By T2 Editors3 hours ago

Summary

Southwest Airlines is abandoning its no-frills legacy by developing at least 11 airport lounges, with the first locations in Baltimore, Honolulu, Nashville, and Austin expected to open as early as summer 2027. The project, a partnership with JPMorganChase, will be tied to a new premium co-branded credit card, marking the carrier’s most aggressive move yet into the premium travel segment.

Construction permits confirm work is already underway at seven airports, including Denver and Dallas Love Field. The central unknown remains access policy — whether lounge entry will be exclusive to the new Chase cardholders or extended to Rapid Rewards elite members.

The egalitarian carrier that built its brand on cattle-call boarding and free peanuts is now drawing up blueprints for dedicated premium spaces. Southwest Airlines confirmed it is developing a network of at least 11 airport lounges, with the first wave targeting summer 2027 openings in Austin, Baltimore, Honolulu, and Nashville.

The lounges represent a fundamental break from Southwest’s historical operating model. For decades, the airline positioned its lack of lounges as part of its democratic appeal — every passenger got the same experience. That philosophy is now giving way to a Chase-backed premium strategy that will segment customers by card product and spending power.

Construction documents and airport permit filings reviewed by industry sources show active projects at seven airports: Austin, Baltimore, Honolulu, Nashville, Denver, Washington National, and Dallas Love Field. A Nashville contractor schedule points to a possible June 28, 2027 completion date, while an Austin filing labeled Project Oasis suggests a March 1, 2027 target. At least four additional lounge locations remain unannounced.

The airline characterized the lounge network as a strategic investment in its Rapid Rewards loyalty program, though it has not released design specifications, capacity figures, or amenity details. A new co-branded credit card developed with Chase will serve as the primary access vehicle, but Southwest has not clarified whether A-List or A-List Preferred elites will receive complimentary entry, or whether day passes will be sold.

The rollout plan and what’s confirmed

Southwest’s lounge ambitions are unfolding across two phases. The first wave — Austin, Baltimore, Honolulu, and Nashville — is backed by active construction permits and contractor schedules pointing to mid-2027 openings. The second wave will add at least seven more lounges across what the airline describes as “high-demand business and leisure markets,” though specific cities beyond Denver, Washington National, and Dallas Love Field remain undisclosed.

The Chase partnership places Southwest in a competitive lane already occupied by United’s United Club network and Delta’s Sky Club system, both of which tie access to premium co-branded cards. United’s Chase Explorer card offers two one-time United Club passes annually, while Delta has tightened Sky Club access for some American Express Platinum cardholders with same-day-flight requirements and visit caps. Southwest has not yet published comparable rules.

Southwest lounge rollout: confirmed and reported locations
Airport Phase Earliest reported opening Status
Austin (AUS) Wave 1 March 1, 2027 Permit filed (Project Oasis)
Nashville (BNA) Wave 1 June 28, 2027 Contractor schedule identified
Baltimore (BWI) Wave 1 Summer 2027 Confirmed by Southwest
Honolulu (HNL) Wave 1 Summer 2027 Confirmed by Southwest
Denver (DEN) Wave 2 TBD Permit activity underway
Washington National (DCA) Wave 2 TBD Permit activity underway
Dallas Love Field (DAL) Wave 2 TBD Permit activity underway

The airline has not disclosed whether the Chase partnership includes reciprocal access at other lounge networks. No official statement confirms or denies that the new card will offer Priority Pass membership or partner lounge privileges — a common feature of premium travel cards at this price point.

ATC

Flight deals most people never see

Our AI monitors 150+ airlines for pricing anomalies that traditional search engines miss. Air Traveler Club members save $650 per trip per person on average: see how it works.


Each deal saves 40–80% vs. regular fares:

Superdeals preview

What the lounge network signals about Southwest’s trajectory

This is not a routine amenities refresh. Southwest spent five decades building a brand around operational simplicity and egalitarian service. Adding lounges requires the airline to invest in real estate, staffing, food-and-beverage programs, and ongoing maintenance — cost centers it has historically avoided. The decision signals that management sees enough revenue potential from higher-spending customers to justify the structural overhead.

The Chase partnership is the linchpin. By tying lounge access to a new premium card, Southwest can monetize the lounges through interchange fees and annual card revenue rather than relying solely on membership sales. This mirrors the model that has made co-branded cards the most profitable segment of U.S. airline loyalty programs. Air Traveler Club’s analysis of Southwest A-List status changes shows how the carrier has already recalibrated elite benefits around assigned seating — lounges are the next logical extension of that premium pivot.

The timing is also notable given broader lounge overcrowding trends. As credit card proliferation has democratized lounge access, carriers have responded with tighter entry rules. Southwest enters this environment with the opportunity to design capacity controls from day one — a luxury United and Delta did not have when their lounge networks were built decades ago.

What the access uncertainty means for booking decisions

Until Southwest and Chase publish the premium card’s full benefit terms, any lounge-access strategy tied to Rapid Rewards status or a future card product remains speculative. The airline has not confirmed whether A-List or A-List Preferred members will receive complimentary entry, and no day-pass pricing has been announced.

  • Do not assume A-List status unlocks lounge entry. United and Delta both restrict lounge access to premium cardholders or membership purchasers — not general elite status holders. Southwest may follow the same model.
  • Existing Chase Sapphire Reserve and Priority Pass members should not expect reciprocal access unless Southwest explicitly announces a partnership. No such arrangement has been confirmed.
  • If lounge access is a deciding factor for 2027 travel, compare Southwest’s forthcoming rules against United Club and Delta Sky Club access requirements before committing to a card product or loyalty strategy.
  • Southwest loyalists in Austin, Baltimore, Nashville, and Honolulu stand to benefit first. Travelers routing through Denver, Washington National, or Dallas Love Field will wait longer — those lounges are in the second wave with no confirmed opening dates.

The premium card launch will be the definitive signal. If Southwest prices the card competitively and includes guest privileges, it could pull market share from United’s Explorer and Delta’s Platinum card products in overlapping markets.

Reporting by

T2.0 Editors

Since 2010, we've tracked global aviation markets across four continents, monitoring 150+ airlines and their route networks, fare structures, and seasonal dynamics. Our team delivers daily aviation intelligence — combining technology with on-the-ground market knowledge.

FAQ

Will Southwest A-List status holders get lounge access?

Southwest has not confirmed whether A-List or A-List Preferred members will receive complimentary lounge entry. United and Delta both restrict lounge access to premium cardholders or membership purchasers rather than general elite status holders, and Southwest may adopt a similar model. The access policy will likely be clarified when the new Chase premium card is formally announced.

When will the first Southwest lounges open?

Construction permits and contractor schedules point to initial openings as early as summer 2027. An Austin filing labeled Project Oasis suggests a possible March 1, 2027 completion date, while a Nashville contractor schedule indicates a June 28, 2027 target. Baltimore and Honolulu are confirmed as first-wave locations but do not yet have specific opening dates.

Will the new Chase card include Priority Pass or partner lounge access?

No reciprocal access arrangement with Priority Pass, DragonPass, or other lounge networks has been confirmed. Southwest and Chase have not disclosed whether the premium card will include partner lounge privileges, a common feature of competing premium travel cards at similar price points.