Jayapura DJJ (Sentani)

Best fares, airport info, and general guidelines

Share it

Best fares and promo tickets


Time range:

Flights above were found by TIKET2 users over the past few days. Due to rapidly changing airline prices, these fares may no longer be available.

Jayapura airport info

Sentani Airport (DJJ) is an airport serving Jayapura, the capital of Papua province, Indonesia, on the island of New Guinea. Sentani airport, 36km west of Jayapura, is the hub of Papuan aviation and many people's first point of arrival in Papua.

Sentani Airport was a part of the large American facilities at Hollandia, which was liberated from the Japanese by an American amphibious task force on 22 April 1944. At the end of the war the Hollandia airfield was abandoned but remains in good condition to this day. Sentani Airfield is the only part of the complex still in use as an airfield today. It is used as the principal entry point into the Indonesian half of the island.

Departure tax at Jayapura airport

When flying within Indonesia, everyone must pay a departure tax that may vary from airport to airport. In general, expect a departure tax between Rp. 20,000 and Rp. 40,000. Make sure you have this amount in Rupiahs as the departure tax must be paid at the airport before you proceed to the departures area.

Compare all Indonesian airlines at once

Transport to and from the airport

Official airport taxis from Sentani airport to central Jayapura cost a hefty Rp 200,000. Outside the airport gate you can charter one for Rp 100,000 to Rp 120,000 with bargaining. Going by public taksi from Sentani to Jayapura involves three changes and takes about 1,5 hours (each change is just a hop into another vehicle waiting at the same stop).

Airports near Jayapura

The following airports are very close to Jayapura. As prices can differ remarkably you may want to check flights to these airports. Then, in case of finding a good fare, catch a bus, boat or train to your destination city.

Airlines which serve Jayapura airport

Batavia Jakarta, Manokwari, Surabaya, Makassar,
Garuda Biak, Jakarta, Denpasar (Bali), Timika, Makassar,
Lion air Jakarta, Denpasar (Bali), Yogyakarta, Manado, Surabaya, Makassar,
Merpati Biak, Jakarta, Manado, Merauke, Manokwari, Sorong, Surabaya, Timika, Makassar,
Sriwijaya Yogyakarta,

Jayapura city info

Jayapura City is the capital of Papua province, Indonesia, on the island of New Guinea, situated on Yos Sudarso Bay, with an approximate population of 200,000.

From 1910 to 1962 the city was known as Hollandia and was the capital of a district of the same name in the northeast of West New Guinea. In 1945, the Dutch made Hollandia the capital of Netherlands New Guinea. After the territory was handed over to the United Nations, on October 1, 1962, the city became known by the Indonesian name Kota Baru, and retained the name when Indonesia took control, on May 1, 1963. The city was briefly renamed Sukarnopura, after President Sukarno, until the end of 1968, when it acquired its present name. The literal meaning of Jayapura is 'City of Victory'.

The Indonesian Consulate in Vanimo issues visitors visas for Jayapura. Passports lodged in the morning will be ready by afternoon. A small fee is payable. Tourists who are wanting to travel further into Indonesian territory than Jayapura will need to wait longer for their visas to be issued as the consulate may have to refer your application to the embassy in Port Moresby.